Make an allegation

The Ethics and Conduct Office, available for Vale’s internal and external stakeholders, is a proactive, transparent, independent and impartial communications tool for reporting violations or suspected violations of any of the points described in our Code of Ethics and Conduct.

These may include possible accounting irregularities or improprieties or any other issues related to accounting, auditing, internal controls, standards, policies, ethics, human rights or the environment. The Ethics and Conduct Office may also be used when Vale’s more everyday mechanisms for resolving problems, such as call centres, do not provide an adequate solution to a problem that has already been reported.

If you have any specific question about the Code of Ethics and Conduct or the Ethics and Conduct Office, please consult our FAQ. If you want to submit a new question or to talk about any other subject, use our contact channel – Talk to Us.

If you identify or suspect the existence of an irregularity, you should report this fact to Vale’s Code of Ethics and Conduct. There are five ways of submitting an allegation:

  • Electronic form

    Click here to access the platform.

  • Email

    ethicsandconduct@vale.com

  • Letter

    Send your letter to “Vale S.A. – PO Box 521 CEP: 06320-971 – Brazil”

  • Phone

    Calls are toll-free and there is a specific number for each country. 
    Brazil: 0800 821 5000 | (21) 3814-5000 | 821 5000 (internal phone)
    Canada: 1-844-450-5001
    Peru: 0800 51080
    Mozambique: Vodacom (cell phone): 84 5000 / Mcel (cell phone): 82 5000 / TMD (landline): 800-005-000
    Other countries: Call collect to +55 (21) 3814-5000

     

  • In person

    Call +55 (21) 3485-3400 and schedule a visit to the Ethics and Conduct Office.

Image 1

Anyone, whether or not connected with Vale, who feels negatively affected by Vale due to a violation of the Code of Ethics or our values, or who has a problem that has not been resolved through the company’s everyday channels, may use the Ethics and Conduct Office.

We are counting on the collaboration of Vale employees, contractors and communities, both in the ethical performance of their functions and in the reporting in good faith of suspected cases of violations of our standards of ethics and conduct.

When making an allegation using the electronic form, by phone or by email, you will receive a protocol number that you may subsequently use to submit additional information or verify the investigation’s progress and results.

Access the Ethics and Conduct Office’s online platform, insert the protocol number, and check your allegation’s status.

Follow up on an allegation

  • Allegations may be made in the official language of the complainant’s country of origin, and should whenever possible feature enough details to enable the reported facts to be investigated.

  • Whether or not complainants identity themselves, their anonymity is always guaranteed.

  • Anonymous allegations will be investigated provided that they feature enough data and information to enable a proper investigation and that they are permitted by the country’s legislation.

  • In the case of Vale employees in Canada, allegations about possible irregularities or improprieties related to the workplace and employees should be reported directly to local management. Such as the following:

    - Workplace health and safety issues that endanger people’s lives;
    – Violence, bullying, threats or harassment at work;
    – Sexual harassment involving employees;
    – Issues related to the workplace, such as discipline, promotions, job recommendations, and shifts;
    – Allegations related to the company’ local environmental obligations.

  • In all cases, confidentiality, independence, impartiality and immunity are guaranteed in the treatment, investigation and filing of information received. The rights of complainants and the people cited are also guaranteed, and any kind of retaliation against those who use the Ethics and Conduct Office in good faith is forbidden, regardless of the results of investigations. This tool should be used in a conscientious manner to maintain the credibility of the process.

Portez plainte

Le canal de l’ombudsman, disponible au public interne et externe de Vale, est un outil de communication proactif, transparent, indépendant et impartial pour dénoncer les violations ou soupçons de violation de l’un quelconque des points décrits dans notre Code d’éthique et de conduite.

Parmi ces violations, nous mettons en évidence des irrégularités ou inadéquations comptables ou toute autre question de comptabilité, audit et liée aux contrôles internes, normes, politiques, éthique, droits de l’homme et environnement. Le canal de l’ombudsman peut également être utilisé lorsque les mécanismes ordinaires de résolution de problèmes proposés par Vale comme, par exemple, les centres d’appels, n’aboutissent pas à une solution appropriée concernant un problème déjà signalé.

Si vous avez des questions spécifiques sur le code d’éthique et de conduite ou sur l’ombudsman, veuillez consulter notre section FAQ. Au cas où vous souhaiteriez envoyer une nouvelle question ou parler de tout autre sujet, merci d’utiliser le canal de communication de Vale – Nous contacter.

Lorsque vous identifiez ou soupçonnez l’existence d’une irrégularité, vous devez faire appel à l’ombudsman de Vale. Il existe 5 façons de transmettre votre plainte:

  • Formulaire numérique

    Cliquez ici pour accéder à la plateforme.

  • Par lettre

    Écrivez à l’adresse Vale S.A. –PO Box 521 CEP: 06320-971 – Brazil

  • Par téléphone

    Les appels sont sans frais et il y a un nombre spécifique pour chaque pays . • Brésil: 0800 821 5000 | (21) 3814-5000 | 821 5000 ( téléphone interne) • Canada: 1-844-450-5001 • Pérou: 0800 51080 • Mozambique: Vodacom (téléphone cellulaire ) : 84 5000 Mcel ( téléphone cellulaire ) : 82 5000 TMD (fixe ) : 800-005-000 • Autres pays : Appel à recueillir +55 (21) 3814-5000.

  •  Personnellement

    prenez rendez-vous avec l’ombudsman en appelant le numéro +55 (21) 3485-3400

Image 1

Toute personne, liée ou non à Vale, qui se sente négativement affectée par Vale, en raison de la violation du code d’éthique ou de nos valeurs, ou qui n’ont pu obtenir la résolution d’un problème par les voies ordinaires de la société peut utiliser le canal de l’ombudsman.

Nous comptons sur la collaboration des employés de Vale, des tiers et de la communauté, aussi bien en ce qui concerne l’exercice éthique de leurs fonctions, que leur bonne foi lors des rapports des cas de soupçon de violation des règles d’éthique et de conduite.

Lors de l’envoi d’une plainte par fichier numérique, par téléphone ou courriel, le plaignant recevra un code et un mot de passe qui pourront être utilisés ultérieurement, pour l’envoi d’informations supplémentaires ou pour vérifier les progrès et les résultats de l’enquête.

Le plaignant devra accéder à la plateforme en ligne du canal de l’ombudsman, en composant le code et le mot de passe pour vérifier la situation de la plainte.

Follow up on an allegation

  • Les dénonciations peuvent être faites dans la langue officielle du pays d’origine du plaignant, et doivent, lorsqu’il l’est possible, contenir des éléments suffisants pour permettre la vérification des faits rapportés.

  • Que la plainte soit identifiée ou non, l’anonymat est toujours garanti.

  • Les plaintes anonymes seront étudiées, à condition qu’elles contiennent des données et informations suffisantes pour permettre une enquête appropriée et qui soit autorisée par les lois du pays.

  • Pour les employés de Vale au Canada, les plaintes concernant des possibles irrégularités, ou des irrégularités liées au lieu de travail et aux employés doivent être signalées directement à la gestion locale, telles que:

    - Aspects de santé et de sécurité imposant des risques pour la vie;
    – Violence, intimidation, menaces ou harcèlement dans les lieux de travail;
    – Harcèlement sexuel concernant des employés;
    – Questions liées au lieu de travail, par exemple, discipline, promotions, instructions de travail, affectations, etc.
    – Plaintes relatives à des obligations locales de la société par rapport à l’environnement Le canal de l’ombudsman reçoit également le relai des problèmes qui n’ont pas été résolus par les autres canaux d’assistance de notre société.

  • Dans tous les cas, la confidentialité, l’indépendance et l’impartialité dans le traitement, la vérification et le classement des informations reçues sont assurées. De même, sont garantis les droits du plaignant et des personnes concernées, toute forme de représailles à l’encontre de ceux qui de bonne foi utilisent le canal de l’ombudsman étant interdite, quel que soit le résultat de l’enquête. Cet outil doit être utilisé de façon consciente afin d’assurer la crédibilité du processus.